deutsche Version
english Version

Photo: Daniel Lilleeng

BERIT NORBAKKEN, soprano

Berit Norbakken (former Berit Solset) is one of Scandinavia’s leading sopranos. Her versatility and flexibility of voice have allowed her to master a repertoire ranging from Baroque to contemporary, including folk music. She appears regularly in performances of oratorios, passions, and masses, and continues her work with leading ensembles, orchestras and conductors in major concert halls all over the world.

Norbakken has also sung opera with great success, most recently in a new staged production of Bach’s St John Passion directed by Calixto Bieito at Theatro Arriaga in Bilbao.

 

After studies in Tromsø/Norway, Karlsruhe/Germany and graduating from the Norwegian Academy of Music, she won the 2006 INTRO-classical competition, the prestigious launch programme sponsored by Concerts Norway. This led to, among other things, a close collaboration with Bjarte Eike and Barokksolistene. Their recording The Image of Melancholy received brilliant reviews in Norway and abroad.

She collaborates closely with conductor Juanjo Mena, with whom she regularly appears in concert, lately in Bach’s Matthewpassion at the May Festival Cincinnati. For her recording with the BBC Philharmonic of Arriaga’s vocal music, she has received glowing reviews internationally.

 

In November 2019 she performed the world premiere of Kaia Saariaho’s Quatre Instants – (sinfonietta version) with the Arctic Philharmonic Sinfonietta and Tim Weiss. She appeared in Sydney Opera House together with Anima Eterna Brugge, in Beethoven Symphony no 9, conducted by Jos van Immerseel, in Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall in Grieg’s Peer Gynt with Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra led by Mikhael Pletnev and in several programs touring in Europe.

 

Other parts include Marzelline (Beethoven/Fidelio), Rosina (Rossini/Il Barbiere de Sevilla) Balkis (Haydn/L’Incontro Improvviso), Aci (Händel/Aci, Galatea e Polifemo), Adonis (Scarlatti/Il Giardino di Amore), Abel (Scarlatti/ Il Primo Omicidio), first soprano in Mozart’s Great Mass in C Minor, Mozart’s Exsultate, jubilate, Haydn’s Schöpfung and Jahreszeiten.

 

Since 2015 she has been a research fellow at the The Norwegian Artistic Research Programme. During her project she has worked closely with the Swedish composer Karin Rehnqvist. Her research work was finalised fall 2019 and the viva voce will take place during spring 2020.

 

Upcoming engagements include several concerts with Lorenzo Coppola, Brittens Les Iluminationes in Bad Brückenau, a CD recording of Saariaho’s Quatre Instants, Handel’s La Resurrezione with Ottavio Dantone, Arragia’s Hermine & Médée with Juanjo Mena, Handel’s Orlando (Dorinda) in Versailles with Orchester Nord and Bach’s Cantata 80 Ein Feste Burg with Phillip Herreweghe, Collegium Vocale Gent and Gewandhausorchester Leipzig.

 

https://beritnorbakken.com/

 

2020/2021 season (Representation: Management Germany and other countries)


Please only use this authorized biography. No modifications or abridgments will be allowed without the written approval of ORFEO artist management

OK

This site uses cookies.
We use cookies to offer functions for this website and to analyze the traffic to our website. You accept our cookies when using this website. read more

deutsche Version
english Version

Foto: Daniel Lilleeng

BERIT NORBAKKEN, Sopran

Berit Norbakken (früher Berit Solset) ist eine der führenden Sopranistinnen Skandinaviens.

Dank ihrer Vielseitigkeit und stimmlichen Flexibilität erstreckt sich ihr Repertoire von der Renaissance bis zur zeitgenössischen Musik, inklusive traditioneller Musik ihres Heimatlandes. Sie ist eine viel gefragte Solistin und tritt mit führenden Ensembles, Orchestern und Dirigenten weltweit in den wichtigsten Konzerthäusern auf.

Auf der Opernbühne war Berit Norbakken mit großem Erfolg zuletzt in einer szenischen Neuproduktion von Bachs Johannespassion am Theatro Arriaga in Bilbao unter der Regie von Calixto Bieito zu erleben.

 

Nach Studien in Tromsø (Norwegen), Karlsruhe (Deutschland) und dem abschließenden Diplom an der Norwegischen Musikhochschule Oslo gewinnt sie 2006 den rennomierten INTRO-Klassik Wettewerb, ein von «Rikskonsertene» finanziertes Stipendium. Dies führt u.a. zu einer engen Zusammenarbeit mit den Barokksolistene und Bjarte Eike.

Für die Einspielung The Image of Melancholy bekam sie begeisterte Kritiken im In- und Ausland.

Eine rege Zusammenarbeit mit dem Dirigenten Juanjo Mena führte sie zuletzt zum May Festival Cincinnati (USA), wo sie Bachs Matthäuspassion sang. Für die Aufnahme von Vokalmusik Juan Cristomo Arragias mit BBC Philharmonic unter der Leitung von Mena erhielt sie große Anerkennung.

 

Im November 2019 sang sie die Welturaufführung von Kaia Saariahos Quatre Instans mit der Arktisk Filharmoni Sinfonietta unter der Leitung von Tim Weiss. Außdem sang sie Beethovens 9. Sinfonie mit Anima Eterna Brugge unter der Leitung von Jos van Immerseel im Opernhaus Sydney, Griegs Peer Gynt mit dem Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra unter Mikhail Pletnev in der Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall und eine Vielzahl anderer Werke in ganz Europa.

 

Berit Norbakkens Repertoire beinhaltet u.a. Marzelline (Beethoven/Fidelio), Rosina (Rossini/Il Barbiere de Sevilla), Balkis (Haydn/L’Incontro Improvviso), Aci (Händel/Aci, Galatea e Polifemo), Adonis (Scarlatti/Il Giardino di Amore), Abel (Scarlatti/ Il Primo Omicidio), den 1. Sopran in Mozarts Großer Messe in c-Moll, Mozarts Exultate Jubilate, Beethovens Christus am Ölberge, Haydns Die Schöpfung und Die Jahreszeiten.

 

Seit 2015 ist sie Stipendiatin im «The Norwegian Artistic Research Program” an der “Norges Arktiske Universitet” in Tromsø (Norwegen). Im Rahmen dieses Projektes arbeitet sie eng mit der schwedischen Komponistin Karin Rehnqvist zusammen. 

 

In der kommenden Zeit freut sie sich auf mehrere Konzerte in Zusammenarbeit mit Lorenzo Coppola, Brittens Les Iluminationes in Bad Brückenau, eine CD-Aufnahme von Saariahos Quatre Instants, Händels La Resurrezione mit Ottavio Dantone, Arragias Hermine & Médée mit Juanjo Mena, Händels Orlando (Dorinda) in Versailles mit Orchester Nord und Bachs Kantate 80 Ein Feste Burg mit Phillip Herreweghe und Collegium Vocale Gent und dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig.

 

https://beritnorbakken.com/

 

Saison 2020/2021 (Vertretung: Management Deutschland und weitere Länder) 

 

Bitte verwenden Sie nur diese Biografie. Änderungen/ Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ORFEO artist management.

Akzeptieren

Diese Website verwendet Cookies.
Wir verwenden Cookies, um Funktionen für diese Webseite anbieten zu können und die Zugriffe auf unsere Website zu analysieren. Sie akzeptieren unsere Cookies, wenn Sie diese Webseite nutzen. Mehr lesen