deutsche Version
english Version

Photo: Tatjana Dachsel

SOPHIE HARMSEN, mezzo-soprano

Sophie Harmsen travelled extensively at an early age, her parents being German diplomats, and continues this in her professional career as an internationally successful and acclaimed mezzosoprano.

 

Opera productions in past seasons have taken her from Madrid (Teatro Real as Annio in La clemenza di Tito with Christophe Rousset) via concerts at Wigmore Hall London, the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Philharmonie de Paris, the Teatro Colon in Buenos Aires to Shanghai Grand Theatre as Dorabella in Cosi fan tutte with René Jacobs. She is also a regular and popular performer at all the larger German philharmonies and concert halls.

 

Sophie is frequently and recurringly invited to perform with symphony orchestras such as the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, the SWR Symphonieorchester, the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester, the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and the Orchestre National de France and has had opportunities to work with renowned conductors including Frieder Bernius, Constantinos Carydis, Adam and Ivan Fischer, Daniel Harding, Philippe Herrweghe, Thomas Hengelbrock, Manfred Honeck, Jérémie Rhorer, Andreas Spering and Markus Stenz.

 

Sophie has a special and long standing bond with early music. Her solo recitals with Concerto Köln and Capella Augustina were great successes and she is regularly invited to sing with the most celebrated baroque ensembles such as the Freiburger Barockorchester, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and the Collegium 1704, with all of whom she has performed extensively and recorded several award winning CDs; Bruckners Missa Solemnis with the RIAS Kammerchor (Diapason D’Or) and the complete recording of the Luther Cantatas by J.S. Bach under the baton of Christoph Spering (Echo 2017) amongst many others.

 

In the current season Sophie will once again join Kent Nagano at the Kölner Philharmonie. She feels so fortunate to already have interpreted Wagners Wesendonck Lieder with him there in 2019. Subsequently she will be singing concerts and recordings under the batons of René Jacobs (Beethoven), Pablo Heras-Casado (Beethoven), Lukasz Borowicz (Bruckner), Nathalie Stutzmann (J.S. Bach), Howard Arman (Mozart), Laurence Cummings (Handel), Andreas Spering (J.S. Bach) and David Afkham (J.S. Bach) this season. She also looks forward to returning to the Hamburgische Staatsoper for the production of Brahms Liebesliederwalzer with the Hamburg Ballett (John Neumeier).

 

In her work with famous directors such as Robert Wilson, Ursel and Karl-Ernst Herrmann, William Kentridge and Andreas Dresen she was able to hone her already convincing and much praised acting skills.

 

Sophie is a frequent performer at large international festivals such as the Salzburger Festspiele, the Mozartwoche Salzburg, the Schleswig Holstein Musik Festival, the Rheingau Musik Festival and the Bachfest Leipzig.

 

Sophie studied at the University of Cape Town and with Prof. Dr. Edith Wiens and now lives in Berlin with her family.

 

“The mezzo-soprano Sophie Harmsen stood out among the cast. Her powerful Dorabella was one of the best I've heard. The psychological evolution of this character, from the naïve beginning to the doubts and the anger at the end, was precisely depicted with diverse voice colors and beautiful acting, even that in a semi-staged performance.”

(28.04.2017, bachtrack.com >>)

 

2019/2020 season (Representation: General Management) 

 

Please only use this approved biography; no alteration or abridgement without the approval of ORFEO artist management

 

To top

OK

This site uses cookies.
We use cookies to offer functions for this website and to analyze the traffic to our website. You accept our cookies when using this website. read more

deutsche Version
english Version

Foto: Tatjana Dachsel

SOPHIE HARMSEN, Mezzosopran

Sophie Harmsen ist als Kind deutscher Diplomaten schon früh weit gereist und setzt das auch mit ihrem Werdegang als international erfolgreiche und renommierte Mezzosopranistin fort.

 

Opernproduktionen führten sie in vergangenen Spielzeiten von Madrid (Teatro Real als Annio in La clemenza di Tito mit Christophe Rousset) über Konzerte in der Wigmore Hall London, dem Concertgebouw Amsterdam, der Philharmonie de Paris, dem Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires bis ins Shanghai Grand Theatre als Dorabella in Così fan tutte mit René Jacobs. In den großen deutschen Philharmonien und Konzerthäusern ist sie regelmäßiger und gern gesehener Gast.

 

Symphonieorchester wie das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, das SWR Symphonieorchester, das Deutsche Symphonie Orchester, das Royal Stockholm Philharmonic und das Orchestre National de France und Dirigenten wie Frieder Bernius, Constantinos Carydis, Adam und Iván Fischer, Daniel Harding, Philippe Herrweghe,  Thomas Hengelbrock, Manfred Honeck, Jérémie Rhorer, Andreas Spering und Markus Stenz laden sie immer wieder gerne ein.

 

Eine besondere Liebe verbindet sie mit der alten Musik. Große Erfolge konnte sie mit Solo-Abenden u.a. mit Concerto Köln feiern. Mit den renommiertesten Barockensembles wie dem Freiburger Barockorchester, der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und dem Collegium 1704 hat sie eine Vielzahl von Konzerten bestritten und gemeinsame CD Aufnahmen wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet; so zum Beispiel Bruckners Missa Solemnis mit dem RIAS Kammerchor (Diapason d‘Or) und die Gesamtaufnahme der Luther Kantaten von J.S. Bach unter der Leitung Christoph Spering (Echo 2017). 

 

In der kommenden Saison singt Sophie erneut unter der Leitung Kent Naganos in der Kölner Philharmonie. Dort durfte sie 2019 unter seiner Leitung Wagners Wesendonck Lieder interpretieren.

In dieser Saison folgen außerdem Konzerte unter der Leitung von René Jacobs (Beethoven), Pablo Heras-Casado (Beethoven), Lukasz Borowicz (Bruckner), Nathalie Stutzmann (J.S. Bach), Howard Arman (Mozart), Laurence Cummings (Händel) und David Afkham (J.S. Bach). An der Hamburgischen Staatsoper wird sie wieder in einer Produktion des Hamburg Ballett (John Neumeier) mit Brahms´ Liebesliederwalzern zu hören sein.

 

Ihre überzeugende und viel gelobte Darstellungskraft auf der Opernbühne konnte Sophie Harmsen mit berühmten Regisseuren wie Andreas Dresen, Ursel und Karl-Ernst Herrmann, William Kentridge und Robert Wilson vervollkommnen.

 

Auf Festivals wie den Salzburger Festspielen, der Mozartwoche Salzburg, dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, dem Rheingau Musikfestival, den Internationalen Händelfestspielen Göttingen und dem Bachfest Leipzig ist sie gerne zu Gast.

 

Sophie Harmsen studierte an der University of Cape Town und danach bei Prof. Dr. Edith Wiens und lebt nun mit ihrer Familie in Berlin.

 

“The mezzo-soprano Sophie Harmsen stood out among the cast. Her powerful Dorabella was one of the best I've heard. The psychological evolution of this character, from the naïve beginning to the doubts and the anger at the end, was precisely depicted with diverse voice colors and beautiful acting, even that in a semi-staged performance.”

(28.04.2017, bachtrack.com >>)

 

Saison 2019/2020 (Vertretung: Generalmanagement)

 

 

Bitte verwenden Sie nur diese Biographie. Änderungen/ Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ORFEO artist management

Nach oben

Akzeptieren

Diese Website verwendet Cookies.
Wir verwenden Cookies, um Funktionen für diese Webseite anbieten zu können und die Zugriffe auf unsere Website zu analysieren. Sie akzeptieren unsere Cookies, wenn Sie diese Webseite nutzen. Mehr lesen